Style

A College Student’s Guide to Desk Style

As college students, we tend to spend quite a bit of time working at our desks. So, why not enjoy spending time in your study space?

In this video, I’ll share my tips and tricks to take a plain, empty desk and turn it into an aesthetically pleasing, yet stylistically simple masterpiece. The best part? It’s quick, easy, affordable and re-creatable!

Love the song I used? Check out “Something Elated” by Broke For Free, via Free Music Archive.

Ready to add style to your desk? Here’s what you’ll need to re-create my quick, easy tips:

INSPIRATION BOARD
An inspiration board is a great way to add some color to your desk without going overboard on the décor.

You’ll need:

  • 8 ½ x 11 photographs
  • Pushpins (I found mine at Fred Meyer. You can find a similar version, here)
  • A corkboard

Directions:
Arrange your photos in the order you’d like them on your corkboard. Press a pushpin in the center of each photo and straighten as needed.

DESK ARRANGEMENT
Keep in mind that each desk is unique, so feel free to inject your personality into every item you add to the top of your desk.

Here’s what I used:

Directions:
Arrange your chosen elements on your desktop. Make sure you take into account the space you’ll need for your computer and schoolbooks. Keep colors light, but to a minimum to avoid distraction.

DRESSER
You’re dresser may not look like mine, but chances are, you have a flat surface in your room that is in dire need of some style.
Here’s what I used:


 

Video Transcript
Hi guys, it’s Hanna. If you’re anything like me, you probably spend a majority of your day when you’re not in class, at your desk. Sometimes, that can get a little boring. One of the best ways you can keep your focus is to add a little style to your desk.
It doesn’t have to be expensive – it can be quick, easy and cheap. I’m here today to show you some quick easy ways to add style to your desk. Let’s get started! Let’s take a look at what my desk looks like, right now. It’s very simple, very basic, black and white. I’ve got an Ikea lamp and just a basic corkboard. I’ve always wanted to do something with it, but was never quite sure what would work. I thought I would make an inspiration board, perfect for long nights of studying. It’s a great addition to an otherwise plain desk.

So lets start off by tackling that corkboard. Now, you can see it’s very plain, so I wanted to add a style element in the form of pictures.

Inspiration Board
Here’s what you’ll need: photographs and pushpins. Let’s get started!

  1. Assemble your photos
  2. Get to work

Now that my bulletin board looks a lot better, we’re going to tackle the top of my desk. I don’t know about you, but when I’m doing work, I don’t like a lot going on but I still do like fun elements that give my desk some style even when I’m not working at it. So let’s get started.
So as you can see, it only took a few quick changes to make my desk look amazing and I can’t wait to get started.

Dresser
Now that my desk is looking fabulous, I thought it would be fun as an added bonus to deck out my dresser. So right now, my dresser is very plain and it really could use some style elements. So let’s get to it!
I hope you liked these fun, easy and inexpensive ways to add style to your desk. Feel free to add your suggestions in the comments below. Thanks for watching!

 

3 replies »

  1. You can tell that you took so much time and energy to make this post so thorough and accessible. It’s a great idea, I love the links too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

